Current Affairs

9 November, 2020


India-Nordic -Baltic CII Conclave 2020 held Virtually; Attended by External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar

Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) and the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) virtually organized an India-Nordic-Baltic Conclave 2020 on the theme “An Innovation-driven Partnership for Growth in a New World”.The Conclave focused on 11 sectors in which the Nordic-Baltic region has expertise and India offers opportunity, provided a platform to connect with potential Indian partners and discuss business partnerships featuring B2B (business to business) sections. It was sponsored by Denmark’s shipping company MAERSK.The Indian side was represented by Union Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, MEA along with participation of Secretary West, Vikas Swarup, Secretary Economic Relations (ER) Rahul Chhabra and Joint Secretary Central Europe Neeta Bhushan.This conclave was the outcome of the India-Denmark virtual summit that took place earlier in 2020.
About Nordic-Baltic countries:
Nordic countries are group of five nations in Northern Europe–Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland and Iceland, while Baltic countries are three countries–Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania who share a coastline with Baltic sea.
About Confederation of Indian Industry (CII):
Director General– Chandrajit Banerjee
President– Uday Kotak
Headquarter– New Delhi

OPEC Secretariat Hosted 4th High-Level Meeting of OPEC-India Dialogue; Co-Chaired by Dharmendra Pradhan & Mohammad Sanusi Barkindo

OPEC(Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries) Secretariat hosted the 4th High-Level Meeting of the OPEC-India Dialogue through video conference.The meeting was co-chaired by Dharmendra Pradhan, Union Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas & Steel and Mohammad Sanusi Barkindo, Secretary General of OPEC.Aim of the Meeting– To Discuss about the impact of COVID-19 pandemic on both the world economy and energy markets including oil markets.
About Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries(OPEC):
Founded– September 1960 in Baghdad, Iraq, with the signing of an agreement by 5 countries namely Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Venezuela.
Member Countries– 13
HeadQuarters– Vienna, Austria(Since September 1, 1965; Originally established in 1961 in Geneva, Switzerland)
Secretary General– Mohammad Sanusi Barkindo
Dharmendra Pradhan- Rajya Sabha, Madhya Pradesh


HIL signs MoU with DCPC to achieve revenue target of INR 451 Crore

HIL (India) Limited(formerly known as Hindustan Insecticides Limited) a Public Sector Undertakings(PSU) under the Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals (DCPC) to achieve the revenue target of INR 451 Crore in the current Financial Year (2020-21).
The MoU was signed by SP Mohanty, HIL (India) Limited’s Chairman and Managing Director (CMD) and Rajesh Kumar Chaturvedi, Secretary of DCPC.
About Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers:
Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals is a department under Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Union Minister – Sadananda Gowda
Minister of State (MoS) – Mansukh Mandaviya

Navies of India, US, Japan, Australia participated in 24th Edition of 1st Phase of Malabar Naval Exercise 2020 held in Bay of Bengal

Phase 1 of the 24th Edition of the Four-nation Naval Exercise Malabar 2020 took place in the Bay of Bengal from November 3-6, 2020. Since 2007, all the QUAD (Quadrilateral Security Dialogue) Group countries (India, United States, Japan, Australia) participated for the 1st time in the Malabar Naval Exercise. The exercise was restricted to sea phase and was conducted in “Zero Contact” format due to Pandemic.
Indian Navy (IN), United States Navy (USN), Japan Maritime Self-Defence Force (JMSDF), and Royal Australian Navy (RAN) participated in the maritime exercise. For the first time in more than 10 years, exercise is witnessing the participation of all four Quad countries.Australia is taking part in the exercise for thefirst time after 2007.
About Indian Navy:
Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS)– Admiral Karambir Singh
Integrated Headquarters MoD (Navy)– New Delhi

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat Inaugurated India’s first solar-based Integrated Multi-Village Water Supply Project in Arunachal Pradesh

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Union Minister of Jal Shakti inaugurated India’s first solar-based Integrated Multi-Village Water Supply Project (IMVWSP) in Lower Dibang Valley district in northeastern Arunachal Pradesh.This project will provide drinking water needs for 39 villages(approximately 17,480 people) in the district.The solar-based lift water supply project was commissioned at a cost of Rs 28.50 crore.
About Arunachal Pradesh:
Chief minister– Pema Khandu
Governor– Brigadier (Dr.) B. D. Mishra


IFFCO Bazar Partners with SBI YONO Krishi App to Boost accessibility of Quality Agri-products in India

IFFCO Bazar e-commerce wing of IFFCO(Indian Farmers Fertiliser Cooperative) has entered into partnership with SBI(State Bank of India) YONO (You Only Need One) Krishi App.
Aim of the Partnership:
i.To boost the accessibility of Quality Agri-products in India
ii.To ensure that a wide range of agricultural products are accessible to many Indian farmers.
iii.To drive digital sales in this segment, with combination of easy and free payment portal of SBI YONO and quality products of IFFCO.
About IFFCO(Indian Farmers Fertiliser Cooperative):
Headquarters– New Delhi, India
Founded– 1967
Managing Director(MD) & Chief Executive Officer(CEO)– Udai Shanker Awasth

German Bank KfW extends 545 Million Euros funding to MMRDA Infrastructure Projects

Frankfurt-based German state-owned development bank KfW (formerly KfW Bankengruppe) extended two loans totaling 545 Million Euros (~ INR 4, 767 crore) to the Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) for infrastructure projects in Mumbai.The package consists of a development loan of 345 million Euros and a promotional loan of 200 million Euros.
About KfW Bank:
Chief Executive Officer (CEO) – Gunther Braunig
Headquarters – Frankfurt, Germany


No items found


Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha Appointed as 11th CIC of Central Information Commission,India

Ram Nath Govind, President of India administered the “Oath of Office” for Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha (62 years), former Diplomat as the 11th Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) in the Central Information Commission of India. The “Oath of Office” ceremony was held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi. He succeeds Bimal Julka who completed his term as CIC in August 2020.
Sinha will serve as CIC for a term of 3 years. (CIC and Information commissioners are appointed for a tenure of 5 years or until the age of 65 years).
Appointment of Sinha:
i.Sinha was shortlisted for the CIC post by the three-member committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.Other members of the committee are Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, leader of Congress in Lok Sabha & Home Minister Amit Shah are the members of the panel.
About Central Information Commission:
Chief Information Commissioner (CIC)– Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha
Information Commissioner– Presently there are 7 Information Commissioners.It is to be noted that the Commission can hold up to 10 Information Commissioners.
Headquarters– New Delhi

Search Current Affairs by Date


Daily Current Affairs | 13th & 14th January 2022

Click here